9 weeks and counting……

Posted: October 4, 2010 in fatherhood

here it is Sunday, and we have 9 more weeks until our little bundle of testosterone arrives to change our lives forever.  Leigha is still doing great with the pregnancy, has to take her glucose test Friday after next, and then doc visits every two weeks until he gets here.  Leigha has been in some misery with our little guy playing blast beats on her insides like he was drumming in a death metal band, and since he is getting bigger, he is starting to crowd into her chest cavity, making it rough on her to breathe fully.  She isnt liking the fact that he is causing her to wake up so early in the mornings, but she is dealing pretty good with it. Still trying to narrow down the choices of names for the little fella, and I think we have them just about ready.  My sister is excited.  She will be an awesome aunt indeed. I think Leighas’ side of the family is excited, I know Leighas’ mom is.  She will be here after the birth to spend her vacation, and will stay with us until she leaves around the beginning of December.  Our friends our getting excited as well. Leighas’ best friend Crystal had her little girl in March, and is turning into quite the cutie!  Crystal gets giddy like a school girl every time she talks about it. Its pretty funny. We still have some things we need to get ready for his arrival, but its nothing major. Finish getting his room together, and cleaning the closet out(ie.stashing the junk in another room.), and finishing up the crib rebuild.  I believe we have plenty of clothes to get him started in this world, we found a bunch on Craigslist, and made a damn good trade. We still need to find a glider for his room, and one for the living room, but those will come in time. He is going to be a winter baby, so I worry about him getting sick with all the different bugs floating around now, and I worry about Leigha and myself catching something and then him catching it.  I know its one of those trivial “first-time dad” worries, but it still bugs the shit out of me. I feel like Gene Wilder in Willy Wonka when he says, “The suspense is KILLING me….I cant wait!” sometimes, but then there are other moments when I can close my eyes, and sit back and smile thinking about what kind of child he is going to be. What kind of child IS he going to be?  Will he be a happy, smily baby?  Will he be a fussy/wontbequiet kind of child?  There are so many others that run laps through my mind, but all in all, he will be my/our child.  And that will be enough.  He will have his quirks like the rest of us, and that will be fine.  Giving the nature of his parents personalities, and those he will be surrounded by with all the friends in family…….I have a feeling he will be just perfect. My worries will be at ease the moment I lay my eyes on him, and hold him in my hands.

Till next time world.

I remain,

an inspired viking.

Leave a comment