…..The end draws near for our Hero….

Posted: October 11, 2010 in fatherhood

32…….32 weeks in to the beginning of this journey…….8 weeks to go ’till our lives will be permanently changed forever. It seems like only yesterday that Leigha told me on April Fools’ Day that she was  pregnant. I know that seems like a shitty day to tell someone, but it was a worthwhile plan that paid out well. But anyways, back to todays’ musings’……..

32 weeks pregnant today. And the little guy is doing a whole lot of rolling and turning inside my bride. Its a cool thing to know that there is something that Leigha and I have created together growing inside of her, waiting to introduce himself to us. I do, in some way, wish that i could take the burden off of Leigha, even if just for a while, because I know that it has worn her out carrying around our precious little viking. But as a Husband, all i can do is support her. As a Friend, I can be there for her. And as her Love, I can do whatever it takes to make this journey a great one.

8 weeks away is the tentative date, and there is so much and so little left to do. We get closer every day to being prepared, and yet, it seems like there is so much left we need to get, or to make everything ready. I don’t foresee him making it all the way to 40 weeks, but when he comes….he comes. We will greet him with open arms, and show him proudly to the world, for he is our son, and he will do great things!(Remember that quote…..might be famous itself one day;)

I have spent a few nights while my bride is immersed in the wonders of slumber, with my head on her stomach, talking to our son. Letting him know what he can expect in this world; what he can achieve; and what he is going to find. I know it sounds a little crazy, to be talking to Leighas’ belly, but I have found solace and a comforting truth, in the fact that these conversations’ with our soon-born have helped me come to terms with the world being completely changed upon the day of his arrival.

I talk to him of his 2 furry brothers that are awaiting him with curious and cold noses, wanting to sniff every part of him. And of the sloppy kisses(stinky in Brunos’ case!)that will come to him at a frantic pace. That he will never have to worry, for there will be a fuzzy, white babysitting boxer-brother, checking on his every sound, and movement. And the extended family ready to shower him with affection and attention.

And I tell him stories’ of his Grandma Wimpy. How she would have loved him like no other. The blessings that she bestowed upon me, I came to realize later in life, she will never get to share with him. But I have told him countless times that he will know his Grandma Wimpy, through myself and his Aunt Dawn, who will love him like her own. I cant help but tear up at the fact that he will never get to meet her, but I know she will be there with him in spirit. Watching over him and helping him along throughout his future days.

32 weeks have flown by our lives. 32 weeks of nervous indecision. 32 weeks of the musings of a name, and the dignity, virtue, and strength that will come from that name. We have narrowed it down to a few. and the rest of you will know it the day we introduce him to you all.

8 weeks to go.

….this should be fun;)

Leave a comment